About

The Research Chair on Accountable Artificial Intelligence in a Global Context is led by Professor Céline Castets-Renard at the University of Ottawa, in the Civil Law Faculty.

The Chair explores the social challenges of artificial intelligence (AI) from a legal perspective. We especially work on social inequalities, with a focus on race, gender and intersectionality. We also study inequalities between the Global North and South, in particular the deployment and design of AI in Africa. Finally, we analyze an area that is still largely unexplored: the risks of AI on humanitarian actions, human rights, and international relations. The aim is to identify inequalities and promote technical and legal solutions to overcome them.

In addition to publishing theoretical analyses, the Chair also conducts action-research through its interdisciplinary center combining law and data science: the Inclusive Technology Lab, where we produce technical tools at the service of law and society.

Building on our team of experts on Canada, the E.U. and the U.S., as well as on our external partnerships, we conduct comparative legal and policy studies to guide legislators' action on AI and automated decision making systems. We adopt a particular focus on the risks of bias and inequalities in new technology.

The unique and innovative nature of the Chair is due to two main factors: (1) interdisciplinarity combining law and data science in the fight against inequalities; and (2) the construction of a corpus of knowledge on the contributions and limits of AI in the world and its social consequences, in order to inform policy-making on the issue.

Whether you are a student, an advocate, a journalist, a scholar, or a member of the public, we will be happy to hear about your interest!

 

 

Updated 26 April 2021 at 21 h 30 min.

La Chaire

La Chaire de recherche sur L’intelligence artificielle responsable à l’échelle mondiale est dirigée par la Professeure titulaire Céline Castets-Renard, à l’Université d’Ottawa, Faculté de droit civil.

La Chaire explore les enjeux éthiques et sociaux de l’intelligence artificielle (IA) sous un angle juridique. Nous travaillons en particulier sur les inégalités sociales, notamment raciales, de genre et intersectionnelles. Nous étudions aussi les inégalités entre le Nord et le Sud, en particulier le déploiement et la conception de l’IA en Afrique. Nous analysons enfin un domaine encore sous-exploré tenant aux risques de l’IA sur les actions humanitaires, les droits humains et les relations internationales. L’objectif est de révéler les inégalités et encourager des solutions techniques et juridiques pour les dépasser.

La Chaire veut proposer des analyses théoriques mais s’inscrit aussi dans la recherche-action par la quête de solutions au travers du Laboratoire pour l’inclusion Technologique (Inclusive Technologie Lab), laboratoire interdisciplinaire combinant le droit et la science des données. Nous réfléchissons aux outils techniques et juridiques au service de la société.

Grâce aux liens et expertises de notre équipe sur l’Europe et les États-Unis, nous menons des études de droit comparé, spécialement pour guider les législateurs dans l’encadrement de l’intelligence artificielle et de la prise de décision automatisée. Une attention particulière est portée sur les risques de biais et inégalités dans les nouvelles technologies. 

L’originalité et le caractère novateur de la Chaire tiennent à deux facteurs principaux : d’une part, l’interdisciplinarité mêlant droit et science des données dans la lutte contre les inégalités et, d’autre part, la construction d’un corpus de connaissance sur les apports et les limites de l’IA dans le monde et ses conséquences sociales, afin de conseiller les législateurs sur l’encadrement légal des technologies.

Que vous soyez étudiant, ONG, journalistes, académiques ou public en général, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter si vous êtes intéressés par nos activités !

Mis à jour le 26 avril 2021 à 21 h 30 min.